Important Personalities

Sardar Kaura Khan

Sardar Kaura Khan was a landlord of Jatoi clan. He was humanist and renowned philanthropist. He was an issueless Sardar. Before his death, he made his will on 05.08.1894 in accordance with Islamic shariah and donated one third of his landed property (of about 83,128 K - 09 M in District Muzaffargarh and District Rajanpur. Mutation of this property was mutated in favour of District Board in 1897-98. Property was taken over by District Council in 1962-63. Donated property was to be spent on "Rifah-e-aam" i.e. Education and Health. He died in 1898 at his home town (Jatoi), District Muzaffargarh.

Abdul Hamid Khan Dasti

Abdul Hamid Khan Dasti was the Chief Minister of Punjab from 21 May 1955 to 14 October 1955 and an MP in the Second Parliament of Pakistan. He was born in Muzaffargarh, Bahawalpur in 1895.

Mushtaq Ahmed Gurmani

Nawab Mushtaq Ahmed Gurmani was born in 1905. He was a Pakistani politician. In his role as Minister without Portfolio he signed the Karachi Agreement of 1949 that established a ceasefire line between Pakistani and Indian areas of Kashmir, which later become known as the Line of Control. In 1951 he served as the Executive for Kashmir Affairs and Northern Areas and also stayed as Interior Minister of Pakistan from 1951 till 1954. Between 1954 and 1957 he served as Governor of Punjab. In 1955, the post of Punjab Governor was abolished and Gurmani went on to become the first Governor of West Pakistan. Mushtaq Ahmed Gurmani belonged to the Gurmani Baloch tribe. He died on 1981.

Nawabzada Nasrullah Khan

He was born in Khangarh in Central Punjab. He started his politics in 1930, when Majlis-e-Ahrar-e-Islam was formed by Syed Ata ullah Shah Bukhari. He was also elected the secretary of the General of All India Majlis-e-Ahrar-e-Islam in 1945. He joined the Muslim League in 1947 after the partition and Independence of Pakistan. He won a seat in the 1952 provincial assembly election and in 1962 the national assembly elections. In 1964 he supported Fatima Jinnah in the election against president Ayub Khan. In 1966, he served as the President of the All-Pakistan Awami League. He helped form the opposition alliance Democratic Action Committee to removed military dictator President Ayub Khan from power. In 1993 He was elected again to the national assembly. He was also made the chairperson of the Kashmir Committee. Just before his death, he was the Chairman of Alliance for Restoration of Democracy (ARD) working for the restoration of democracy in Pakistan against Pervez Musharraf. He died on 27 September 2003 after being admitted to hospital in Islamabad, following a heart attack. He was 86 years old. He is buried in Khangarh District, Muzaffargarh.